The concept behind the Erwin List Ensemble

Twin objectives 

Since its inception, the Erwin List Ensemble has pursued twin objectives;

 

On the one hand, it is the creation, for the long haul, of an ensemble able to take on major, demanding works to a high standard of quality, involving: the choir or the orchestra alone, the choir and the orchestra combined, with or without soloists. The idea is to be able to propose programmes using “variable geometry” appropriate to the performance venue, with smaller groups, where necessary.

 

On the other hand, it is to “deliver” classical music in places where it is performed too infrequently, particularly in smaller centres of population, aiming to defeat the myth of classical music being an art form for the elite.

 

Since its inception, the Ensemble has encountered many times the interest shown by listeners with little musical knowledge. The universally humane nature of the music means that the spectator who is listening to a “Live” concert of classical music for the first time cannot but be enchanted by such music which she or he thought was of no personal interest.

 

Performing such music is, for the members of the Ensemble, a matter of great good fortune and a source of pleasure, both musical and on a human level; It strikes us as important that we should share this with our audience. The pleasure they derive from listening complements the pleasure we derive from working on these musical oeuvres.

 

Reinforced by these beliefs, the Ensemble has already given more than 45 concerts, primarily in Vendée, performing about 40 different pieces since it began in December 2013.

The Media have said of us: 

2 December 2015 - La Roche-sur-Yon

“The Ensemble Erwin List is one of those rare musical entities which brings together singers and musicians under the same director”

9 December 2013 – La Pommeraie-sur-Sèvre

“Jean- Sébastien Bach’s Concerto in D Minor for 2 violins, Henry Purcell’s Sonata in D Major for trumpet and strings and Antonio Vivaldi’s Gloria, performed by the Ensemble Erwin List delighted the audience.”

22 December 2014 – Pouzauges

“The Mayoress, Michelle Deyanne declared “The rafters vibrated, the vocal chords vibrated, the violins vibrated, and the audience felt and responded to those vibes. We express our thanks to the Ensemble Erwin List for this Christmas Concert in the church of Saint-Jacques. A record. More than 500 in the audience able to enjoy these works performed by this amateur ensemble”

La Roche-sur-Yon, Vendée, Pays de La Loire, France

  • Facebook
  • Icône social Instagram

Sign up to our publicity list if you would like to avoid missing any of our information:

Legal notice

2020 - Update by the communication team of Association Ensemble Erwin List

Le projet de l'Ensemble Erwin List

Double objectif

Depuis sa création, l’Ensemble Erwin List poursuit un double objectif :

 

D'une part, construire sur la durée un ensemble capable d’aborder les œuvres majeures du répertoire (chœur ou orchestre seuls, chœur et orchestre réunis, œuvres avec ou sans solistes) avec une grande exigence de qualité. L’idée est de pouvoir proposer un programme adaptable en fonction du lieu, avec des petites formations si nécessaire.

D'autre part, apporter la musique classique là où elle ne va que trop peu et vers le plus grand nombre, notamment dans les petites agglomérations, afin notamment de l’affranchir de son image d’art élitiste. 

Depuis sa création, l’Ensemble a eu le plaisir de constater à maintes reprises l’intérêt d’un public non connaisseur. La dimension humaine et universelle de la musique permet à celui-ci, venu pour la première fois à un concert de musique classique, d’être conquis par la réception en direct d’une musique qu’il croyait, a priori, ne pas lui être destinée. 

Pour les membres de l’Ensemble, la pratique de la musique est une chance, un bonheur à la fois musical et humain qu’il nous paraît très important de partager avec le public : le plaisir de l’écoute rejoint alors le plaisir que nous avons eu à travailler les œuvres présentées. 

C'est fort de ces convictions que l'Ensemble a déjà donné plus de 45 concerts depuis ses débuts en décembre 2013, principalement en Vendée, et a abordé un répertoire d'une quarantaine d'œuvres.

 

La Presse parle de nous ! 

2 Décembre 2015 - La Roche-sur-Yon

“L'Ensemble Erwin List est l'une des rares formations qui réunit chanteurs et musiciens sous la baguette d'un même chef.”

9 Décembre 2013 – La Pommeraie-sur-Sèvre

“Le concerto pour 2 violons en ré mineur, de Jean-Sébastien Bach, la sonate pour trompette et cordes en ré majeur, de Henry Purcell, et le Gloria, d'Antonio Vivaldi, interprétés par l'Ensemble Erwin List, ont ravi le public.”

22 Décembre 2014 – Pouzauges

“«Les voûtes ont vibré, les cordes vocales ont vibré, les violons ont vibrés, et le public a vibré aussi», a lancé la maire, Michelle Devanne. Un remerciement adressé à l'Ensemble Erwin List, pour son concert de Noël, dans l'église Saint-Jacques quasi pleine. Un record. Plus de 500 personnes ont ainsi pu savourer des oeuvres interprétées par cet ensemble amateur.”

La Roche-sur-Yon, Vendée, Pays de La Loire, France

  • Facebook
  • Icône social Instagram

Rejoignez notre liste de diffusion pour ne rater aucune info : 

Mentions légales

2020 - Mis-à-jour par le service communication de l'Association Ensemble Erwin List