visuel_arlésienne_V2.png

DVD The Arlésienne 2018

Georges BIZET (1838 – 1875) 

The Arlésienne 

(a production with raconteur, choir and orchestra)

A production, inspired by the original version but reworked for a raconteur, choir and orchestra. In Alphonse Daudet’s collection, " Letters from my Windmill", « L’Arlésienne » is prominent, a novella written in 1866, inspired by the tragic fate of Frédéric Mistral’s nephew.

Originally, Georges Bizet had composed what might be termed “incidental music” for choir and small orchestra to be performed either during or between the dialogues of the stage-play which Daudet had developed from his novella, performed at the Théâtre du Vaudeville in Paris in 1872.

If the music from this play met with a level of success never repudiated from the time it was created, the production as imagined by these two artistes has very seldom been performed in its original form.

The Ensemble Erwin List asked actor, Jean-Louis Cousseau, to write a new adaptation of Alphonse Daudet’s famous work. This production, intended for a general audience, alternates between music and text, the actor performing on stage the monologue which he has written. 

Biography

Author, actor, theatrical producer and raconteur (both in Libraries and for Radio France Culture in the 1990s), Jean-Louis Cousseau co-directs with Isabelle Loridan the theatrical troupe "Quelqu’unS".  For the (annual) Folle Journée festival, he has worked several times with the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Départemental of La Roche-sur-Yon: "The Soldier’s Story" (Stravinsky/Ramuz), "The Married Couple of the Eiffel Tower" (le Groupe des Six/Cocteau), "The Plow that Broke the Plains" (Thompson/Lorentz) and "A Dream of Carnival" (based on  "The Carnival of the Animals"by Saint-Saëns) and " A Letter from the Baladar Iles" (Prévert/Reverdy).

The Story Outlined

A handsome, young man from the Camargue area, Frédéri is madly in love with a charming girl whom he met in Arles. He makes up his mind to marry her. After initial reticence relating to their marriage, his parents finally give their consent. But one evening, a visitor appears, introducing himself as the lover of the beautiful girl, providing written proof in letters which he shows to Frédéri’s father. The following day, the father tells the whole story to his son. Frédéri calls off the marriage but simply cannot forget l’Arlésienne. Inconsolable and broken-hearted, he prefers to end it all... 

 “There is no Alésienne, there is only her shadow. One talks about her, one even dies for her but one never sees her”, so wrote Alphonse Daudet to Frédéric Mistral who was the first to see the story of this pastoral drama. Daudet used it as the basis for a novel and then a stage-play for which he asked Georges Bizet to compose the musical score. 

The Author’s View

“I have adhered to the melodrama upon which Alphonse Daudet based his short story of the Arlésienne and for which Georges Bizet composed the music, both rich in melodies and splendidly varied in nuance. I retained the essential elements: the intrigues and the personalities. On the other hand, feeling very far removed from the theatrical conventions of that period, I opted for a much more contemporary structure. I invite the audience to follow the developments within the drama by giving a set of short monologues as “asides”. Frequently torn between emotion and reason, each character, in turn, gives his or her view of the situation at a given moment within the story. Accustomed to modern cinema techniques, today’s spectator will be able to follow the tangled web of events without having to have them explained.

 

I also diverge from the rather “binary” view of life outlined by Daudet, (good versus evil, the beauty of tradition versus the dangers of novelty). I infer that no approach to love is superior to another. In my eyes, the Arlésienne herself, just as much as the other protagonists within the story, has the right to speak – and so much the better if Daudet is not of the same opinion!”. 

 

To see it

visuel_arlésienne_V2.png

DVD L'Arlésienne 2018

Georges BIZET (1838 – 1875) 

L'Arlésienne 

(spectacle avec récitant, chœur et orchestre)

Spectacle inspiré de la version d’origine, remaniée pour récitant, chœur et orchestre. Dans le recueil d’Alphonse Daudet, "Les Lettres de mon moulin", figure « L’Arlésienne », une nouvelle écrite en 1866 et inspirée du destin tragique du neveu de Frédéric Mistral. 

Originellement, Georges Bizet avait composé une musique pour chœur et petit ensemble instrumental destinée à être jouée pendant ou entre les dialogues de la pièce de théâtre que Daudet avait tirée de sa nouvelle, et qui a été représentée au Théâtre du Vaudeville à Paris en 1872.

Si la musique de cette pièce de théâtre a rencontré un succès jamais démenti depuis sa création, la version scénique imaginée par les deux artistes n’a été que très peu représentée dans sa forme originelle.

L’Ensemble Erwin List a fait appel au comédien Jean-Louis Cousseau pour l’écriture d’une nouvelle adaptation de cette œuvre très célèbre d’Alphonse Daudet.

Le spectacle grand public proposé associe en alternance musique et texte, le comédien interprétant sur scène le monologue qu’il a lui-même écrit. 

L'histoire en bref

Auteur, comédien, metteur en scène et lecteur à haute voix (en bibliothèque, mais aussi à France Culture dans les années 90), Jean-Louis Cousseau codirige avec Isabelle Loridan la compagnie "Quelqu’unS". À l’occasion de la Folle Journée, il a collaboré à plusieurs reprises avec le Conservatoire à Rayonnement Départemental de La Roche-sur-Yon : "L’Histoire du soldat" (Stravinsky/Ramuz), "Les Mariés de la Tour Eiffel" (le Groupe des Six/Cocteau), "The Plow that Broke the Plains" (Thompson/Lorentz), "Un rêve de carnaval" (sur "Le Carnaval des Animaux" de Saint-Saëns) et "Lettre des îles Baladar" (Prévert/Reverdy). 

L'histoire en bref

Jeune et beau Camarguais, Frédéri est follement épris d’une fille coquette rencontrée à Arles. Il est décidé à l’épouser. Ses parents, d’abord réticents à leur union, consentent finalement au mariage. Mais un soir, un visiteur se présente comme l’amant de la belle. En témoignent des lettres qu’il montre au père de Frédéri. Le lendemain, ce dernier raconte toute l’histoire à son fils. Frédéri renonce à se marier mais ne peut oublier l’Arlésienne. Inconsolable, le cœur brisé, il préfère en finir… 

« Il n’y a pas d’Arlésienne, il n’y a que son ombre. On en parle, on en meurt, on ne la voit pas », écrivit Alphonse Daudet à Frédéric Mistral qui, le premier, avait fait le récit de ce drame paysan. Daudet en tira une nouvelle puis une pièce et demanda à Georges Bizet de composer la musique de scène qui l’accompagnerait. 

Mot de l'auteur

« Au mélodrame qu’Alphonse Daudet a tiré de sa courte nouvelle l’Arlésienne et pour lequel Georges Bizet a écrit une musique riche de mélodies et de climats splendides, je suis resté fidèle en gardant l’essentiel, à savoir l’intrigue et les personnages. En revanche, me sentant fort éloigné des conventions théâtrales de cette époque, j’ai opté pour une forme nettement plus contemporaine. J’invite le public à suivre le déroulement du drame grâce à une suite chronologique de courts monologues intérieurs. Souvent écartelé entre ses émotions et sa raison, chacun des personnages y exprime à tour de rôle son point de vue sur la situation à un moment donné de l’histoire. Familier des codes du cinéma, le spectateur aujourd’hui reconstitue sans mal le fil des événements sans avoir besoin qu’on le lui explique. 

Quant à la vision binaire de la vie développée par Daudet (le bien contre le mal, la beauté de la tradition contre les dangers de la nouveauté), je lui tourne également le dos en suggérant qu’aucune approche de l’amour ne prévaut sur une autre. L’Arlésienne elle-même, au même titre que tous les autres protagonistes de l’histoire, a donc à mes yeux droit à la parole et tant mieux si Daudet n’est pas d’accord ! » 

Jean-Louis Cousseau 

 

Visionner