Loïc Chevalier 

Artistic Director

Loïc Chevalier is a certificated teacher of artistic training specialising in choral direction. He also holds a National Diploma in musical accompaniment and a diploma for completion of the third level of singing.

 

Teacher at the conservatory of La Roche-sur-Yon since 1983, he was first of all accompanist for the singing and instrumental classes then choral director. He created the three choirs which he now directs: a male-voice choir, a female ensemble for equal voices and a chamber choir for mixed voices. For several seasons he has directed “OCARYV”, an orchestra for amateurs drawn from adult students at the conservatory.

 

He learned choral direction at the Centre for Polyphonic Art in Alsace with Erwin List and Benoît Haller (musical director at La Chapelle Rhénane). He was also privileged to work with Toni Ramon (former Director for the Maîtrise (Children’s Choir) of Radio France).

 

For 15 years, he directed the Choeur Allegro in Cholet.

 

During this time, he gave a number of concerts nown as “Springtime for Organ” in Maine-et-Loire, accompanied on the organ by Michel Bourcier, Henri-Franck Beaupérin, Gilles Villari, Marc Chiron or Philippe Chevalier.

 

He created and directed an orchestra to enable a choir to perform great works such as: Fauré’s Requiem, Vivaldi’s Gloria, the Mass in G by Schubert, the Messe de Minuit by Charpentier, and a Haydn Symphony.

 

In 2010, he gave two concerts with Rhoda Scott.

The same year, he enjoyed the privilege at La Roche-sur-Yon of preparing the Children’s Choir at the conservatory to sing St Matthew’s Passion with La Chapelle Rhénane directed by Benoît Haller.

 

He also prepared the chamber choir for Cosi Fan Tutte directed by Francois Bazola at the national theatre of the "Grand R" in La Roche-sur-Yon.

 

As teacher of the singing class for more than 20 years, he has had the benefit of advice on technique from several signing teachers, notably Marie-Thérèse Boiton-Rivoli, wife of the great orchestral conductor, Gian Franco Rivoli.

 

He is invited each year with his choirs by Valérie Fayet to work with students in her class for directors at the conservatory of Nantes.

 

He has been teaching choral direction since 2011 at the conservatory of La Roche-sur-Yon.

Florence Collin 

First violin and Orchestra leader 

Florence Collin studied music at the National Conservatory for the Region of Nantes where, between 1985 and 1992, she was awarded four Gold Medals. She went on to perfect her technique with famous violinists and teachers such as Stefan Gheorghiu, Jean-Pierre Wallez and Christophe Poiget.

Success in obtaining her National Diploma for violin in 1996 enabled her to teach at the National Conservatory for the Region of Nantes. After achieving Professorship, she was engaged by the National School of Music at Quimper, then by the Departmental Conservatory at La Roche-sur-Yon, where she is currently based. Between 2002 and 2009, she was also professor-tutor and director of dissertations at the CEFEDEM Brittany- Pays de la Loire.

In addition to her activities as a teacher and composer (she has been a member of the Société des Auteurs Compositeurs et Editeurs de Musique – SACEM – since 1994), she has 

performed in several, varied musical formations with both the National Orchestra of the Pays de la Loire and the Symphony of Vendée.

Between 2002 and 2016, she was the leader of the second violins with the Orchestral Ensemble of La Baule, conducted by Jean-Christophe Ferreaux. With this ensemble she was able to play in the Salle Gaveau in Paris, in Tunis, Marrakech and Casablanca, and has accompanied distinguished solists including Brigitte Engerer, Patrice Fontanarosa, Olivier Charlier, Henri Demarquette, Gary Hoffman, Anne Gastinel, and Véronique Gens.

Florence Collin is equally fascinated by the links between music and visual art. What is more, she is the holder of a Bachelor's Degree in the History of Art obtained in 1995 at the University of Lille advancing to a Doctorate in Musicology at the University of Paris-Sorbonne in 2006 (thesis entitled « The parallels between music and visual arts in the writings of Francis Poulenc: an original approach to the creation and perception in music », for which she was awarded the special mention of Excellent with the congratulations of the awarding body).

Since 2007, she has regularly organised concert-conferences, primarily at the Conservatory and at the Museum of la Roche-sur-Yon.

She has had several articles published, including  several in les Actes du Séminaire doctoral et post-doctoral « Music and Visual Art » of the Sorbonne, in the review Paon d’Héra and in les Actes du Colloque International « Music and visual art: the translation of one art form into another » which took place at the Sorbonne in May 2008. 

With another string to her bow, she is regularly asked to write the musicologist’s notes in the programmes for the concert season of the Philharmonic of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg. 

La Roche-sur-Yon, Vendée, Pays de La Loire, France

  • Facebook
  • Icône social Instagram

Sign up to our publicity list if you would like to avoid missing any of our information:

Legal notice

2020 - Update by the communication team of Association Ensemble Erwin List

La Roche-sur-Yon, Vendée, Pays de La Loire, France

  • Facebook
  • Icône social Instagram

Rejoignez notre liste de diffusion pour ne rater aucune info : 

Mentions légales

2020 - Mis-à-jour par le service communication de l'Association Ensemble Erwin List

Loïc Chevalier 

Directeur artistique 

Loïc Chevalier est professeur certifié d'enseignement artistique dans la spécialité direction de chœur. Il est également titulaire d'un diplôme d'Etat d'accompagnement et d'un diplôme de fin de troisième cycle de chant.

Il est professeur au conservatoire de La Roche-sur-Yon depuis 1983 où il fut d'abord accompagnateur de la classe de chant et des instruments puis chef de chœur. Il a créé les trois chœurs qu'il y dirige : un chœur d'hommes, un ensemble à voix égales de femmes et un chœur de chambre à voix mixtes. Depuis plusieurs saisons, il dirige l'orchestre OCARYV, orchestre des adultes amateurs du conservatoire.

Il s'est formé à la direction de chœur au Centre d'art polyphonique d'Alsace auprès d'Erwin List et de Benoît Haller (directeur musical de La Chapelle Rhénane). Il a eu aussi le privilège de travailler avec Toni Ramon (ancien chef de la Maîtrise de Radio France).

Il a dirigé pendant 15 ans le Choeur Allegro de Cholet.

Durant cette période, il a donné de nombreux concerts pour "Le Printemps des orgues" du Maine-et-Loire, accompagné à l'orgue par Michel Bourcier, Henri-Franck Beaupérin, Gilles Villari, Marc Chiron ou Philippe Chevalier. 

Il a créé et dirigé un orchestre pour permettre au chœur de monter des œuvres telles que le Requiem de Fauré, le Gloria de Vivaldi, la Messe en sol de Schubert ou la Messe de Minuit de Charpentier, ainsi qu'une symphonie de Haydn.

En 2010, il a donné deux concerts en compagnie de Rhoda Scott.

La même année, à La Roche-sur-Yon, il a eu le privilège de préparer la Maîtrise du conservatoire pour chanter La Passion selon Saint Mathieu avec La Chapelle Rhénane dirigée par Benoît Haller.

Il a également préparé le chœur de chambre pour Cosi Fan Tutte dirigé par Francois Bazola sur la scène nationale du "Grand R" de La Roche-sur-Yon.

Comme accompagnateur de la classe de chant pendant plus de 20 ans, il a bénéficié des conseils techniques de nombreux professeurs de chant et tout particulièrement de Marie-Thérèse Boiton-Rivoli, épouse du grand chef d'orchestre Gian Franco Rivoli.

Il est invité chaque année avec ses chœurs par Valérie Fayet pour le travail avec les étudiants dans sa classe de direction du conservatoire de Nantes.

Il enseigne la direction de chœur depuis 2011 au conservatoire de La Roche-sur-Yon.

Florence Collin 

Premier violon

Florence Collin étudie la musique au Conservatoire National de Région de Nantes où elle obtient, entre 1985 et 1992, quatre médailles d’or. Elle se perfectionne ensuite auprès de violonistes et pédagogues renommés tels que Stefan Gheorghiu, Jean-Pierre Wallez et Christophe Poiget.

Sa réussite au Diplôme d’Etat de violon en 1996 lui permet d’enseigner au Conservatoire National de Région de Nantes. Après l’obtention du grade de Professeur, elle est recrutée à l’Ecole Nationale de Musique de Quimper, puis au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Départemental de La Roche-sur-Yon, où elle est en poste actuellement. Elle a été également professeur-tuteur et directrice de mémoire au CEFEDEM Bretagne - Pays de la Loire entre 2002 et 2009.

Outre ses activités de pédagogue et de compositrice (elle est adhérente à la Société des Auteurs Compositeurs et Editeurs de Musique – SACEM – depuis 1994), elle a joué dans diverses formations de musique de chambre, au sein de l’Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire ainsi qu’à l’Orchestre symphonique de Vendée.

Entre 2002 et 2016, elle a été chef d’attaque des seconds violons de l’Ensemble Orchestral de La Baule, sous la baguette de Jean-Christophe Ferreaux. Dans le cadre de cet ensemble, elle a été amenée à jouer salle Gaveau à Paris, Tunis, Marrakech et Casablanca, et a accompagné des solistes prestigieux tels que Brigitte Engerer, Patrice Fontanarosa, Olivier Charlier, Henri Demarquette, Gary Hoffman, Anne Gastinel, ou encore Véronique Gens.

Florence Collin s’intéresse également aux relations entre la musique et les arts plastiques. Elle est d’ailleurs titulaire d’une Licence d’Histoire de l’Art obtenue en 1995 à l’Université de Lille et a accédé au grade de Docteur en Musicologie de l’Université de Paris-Sorbonne en 2006 (thèse intitulée « Le parallélisme de la musique et des arts plastiques dans les écrits de Francis Poulenc : une approche originale de la création et de la perception musicale », dont la soutenance a été saluée par une mention Très Honorable avec les félicitations du jury).

Depuis 2007, elle organise régulièrement des concerts-conférences, notamment au Conservatoire et au Musée de la Roche-sur-Yon.

Elle a publié quelques articles, entre autres dans les Actes du Séminaire doctoral et postdoctoral « Musique et Arts Plastiques » de la Sorbonne, dans la revue Paon d’Héra ainsi que dans les Actes du Colloque International « Musique et arts plastiques : la traduction d’un art par un autre » qui s’est tenu en Sorbonne en mai 2008.

Elle est par ailleurs régulièrement sollicitée pour écrire des notices musicologiques destinées aux programmes de la saison de concerts de la Philharmonie du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.